JVTEK LandMap Magic

This is not going to be a tutorial, I just wanted to share my joy for this product! If you want an in depth tutorial please check out this Youtube video . So with that out of the way here we go:

I wanted to share this amazingly cool item called the JVTEK LandMap with you guys. It is my holy grail for the garden and will completely transform your land! As it is a bit of a job to get it to match up when doing larger than 32×32 sized land that is not free of decorating items. Unfortunately I forgot to take pictures mid process, but I recreated it as best I could.

JVTEK LandMap joy 1
This is the scanner set up and mapping the land at it’s default size. Particles must be on for this if not you are setting yourself up for a harder job than you need to. You can move those little beacons that emits the fence of light to make the mapped area bigger or smaller as you need to.

JVTEK LandMap joy 2

In the next shot you see the LandMap laid down. It originally has a texture with the JVTEK LandMap logo on them, but as I said I forgot to take pictures of that.
To get to this point you have to lock the scanner and go to the web page it directs you to and from there save the sculptie to your chosen folder and from there upload it as a normal texture to SL. Or sculpties if you needed more than one scanner to cover your land. I used four for mine. And yes, you heard that right I said sculptie! These things are ye ol’ sculpties. I have said I love old stuff! Don’t be scared though you won’t notice what they are and they are pretty low land impact. My four ones linked together come in at only 8LI.
When you have uploaded the sculptie texture it will have a name and you just drop them on the scanner with the same name. Double check the names so you drop them in the right place.

JVTEK LandMap joy 3

In this shot you see me all happy about having my chosen texture laid out on my LandMap, although my new little Frenchie doesn’t look too impressed. I think it is rather awesome though, haha.
You can use the scanners to texture your land if you wanted too, it says how to in the manual, which is very easy to follow. But I chose to delete the scanners at this point and just texture manually. It works just as good for my needs.
It is also at this point I go and fix the places where the land underneath pokes through at some places. This is one of the things you need to keep in mind when using this tool. If your land settings are too extreme or you went nuts with the terraforming the LandMap won’t cover everything perfectly. But it is easily fixed either following the LandMap manual or the lazy way like me, just go and lower the bits that poke through a tad. Go easy on the strength though.

snapshot-21-02-2017_005

At this last picture you can see some of the problems the LandMap has with extreme terraforming. This part of my land is usually covered by the Enchanted Woods v2 – 6 (slope) and my 1 Prim Privacy Pine Grouping  (not shown here and normally retextured with my own texture) so it doesn’t bother me, but I thought I should take the opportunity to show you how you should not do it when using this tool.
When done with the new ground texture I would also normally retexture the base of my items from Skye like the Enchanted Woods and Twisted tree to match. I just kept it’s normal texture to clearly show that it is not part of the LandMap.

So this is it for now. And I think we can all agree about my claim in my first blog post that I would be here very week at most actually meant several times a week, haha. I am really enjoying this and I also just realized that this blog is now a month and a day old, so maybe some celebrations is in order? I’ll at least have some cake!

Thanks for reading guys ❤

What I am gardening in:
DOUX – Veronique Hairstyle [M]
L’Etre. Les accessoires – Veronique flower crown
*JB* Meghan Shirt – Sky – Maitreya
*JB* Meghan Scarf – Maitreya
Blueberry – Pizza Jeans – CutieBootie – Maitreya
T – Hayato Sneakers Tip-Toe [Manifold] (F) (older gacha)
Alchemy – Doge –  French bulldog – Cream (older gacha)
l&e Boho rings A left and A&B right silver (Vista Bento hands) (tinted)
[P] Pillows, Cinderella Hunt: Bracelette

In these shots:
stones I. 8 pcs = 1 prim
Stone Bundle Scene by Felix 3 Prim 15×15 M Size copy-mody (grass part with my own texture on it)
Beach edge 1 (Curtsey of Willowdale)
Willowdale wave – shallow (Curtsye of Willowdale)
Beach sand blur (Curtsye of Willowdale)
JVTEK LandMap scanner
JVTEK LandMap finished and textured with my own texture

Enchanted Woods v2 – 6 (slope)
[DDD] Low Poly Tree – Small – D
LAQ Decor ~ Medium Birch (Summer) – Animated
Apple Fall Farrow Garden Wall with Door and without
Trompe Loeil – Ceres Lamp Post
[DDD] Low Poly Tree – Large –
Scarlet Creative – The Arcade: Venice Palazzo Vinci MC Prefab 1B
Waterfall and rock wall in the background (Curtsey of Willodale)

Leave a Reply

